U.S. Department of the Interior

Graphic of trees and lake scenery.

For More Information:

Michael Castle

Field Office Director

Lexington Field Office

Contact OSMRE



Kentucky is the third largest coal-producing state in the nation and has the fifth largest coal reserve base. Nearly every type of coal mining and reclamation practice is found in the differing coal bearing regions within the state. The eastern Kentucky coalfield is part of the Appalachian Coal Province where underground, contour, and mountaintop mining occurs. The western Kentucky coalfield is part of the Interior Coal Province where area and underground mining occurs. Kentucky currently inspects 1,792 coal mining permits covering 246,311 acres of permitted land. Kentucky received conditional program approval from OSMRE on May 18, 1982.

State Contacts

Abandoned Mine Lands (Title IV) Regulatory (Title V)
State Program Links
KY Division of Abandoned Mine Lands (AML)
KY Department for Natural Resources (DNR)
KY Division of Mine Permits
Division of Mine Reclamation and Enforcement

Abandoned Mine Land (AML)

Kentucky Abandoned Mine Land (AML) Projects

NEPA requires that EA/FONSI's and CX's for AML reclamation projects be made available to the public and that the public be notified when and where they are available for public information. To comply with NEPA notification provisions and for the convenience of the public, the NEPA determination documents for projects in Kentucky authorized after January 1, 2011, are available on the Kentucky Abandoned Mine Land (AML) Projects page in PDF version.


Outreach for Review of the Proposed Oversight Performance Agreement

We are soliciting comments from citizens, environmental groups, industry and other interested parties regarding our Proposed Oversight Performance Agreements, which can be found in the Reg-8 Oversight Database (ODocs). Please submit your comments for our consideration from May 1-15, 2019, by email or in writing to the contact below. As a part of that process, we welcome comments and suggestions from interested parties on oversight and/or potential oversight evaluation topics, including the opportunity for discussions with our office.

The final work plans will be completed by June 30 and will be available by July 14, 2019 in ODocs. You may also request a hard copy of the document. Thank you for your participation in this important process.

The Kentucky Energy and Environment Cabinet's Department for Natural Resources (DNR) is responsible for administering mining, reclamation, and abandoned mine land laws and regulations on Federal and non-Federal lands in Kentucky. There are three divisions within DNR responsible for coal mining. The Division of Abandoned Mine Lands works throughout the state's coal fields to protect the public from health and safety problems caused by mining that occurred prior to passage of SMCRA on August 3, 1977. The Division of Mine Permits evaluates mining and reclamation plans and issues coal mine permits. The Division of Mine Reclamation and Enforcement inspects all surface and underground coal mining permits to assure compliance with SMCRA. In addition to the three mining divisions, the Office of Technical and Administrative Support provides staff support for the coal mining regulatory program under DNR.

What is Oversight?

OSMRE defines "oversight", as the "process of evaluating and assisting states [and tribes] in the administration, implementation, and maintenance of approved programs. In collaboration with each state/tribe, OSMRE develops a Performance Agreement/Evaluation Plan tailored to the unique conditions of each state/tribe program. Performance Agreements/Evaluation Plans between OSMRE and the states establish how oversight is conducted during each evaluation year.

Learn more about OSMRE's National Oversight Program.

Oversight Documents

To view oversight documents visit, OSMRE's REG-8 Oversight Database:

Page Last Modified/Reviewed: 3/1/18

Appalachian Region, OSMRE, 3 Parkway Center, Pittsburgh, PA 15220
(412) 937-2815 | Fax: (412) 937-3012 | Email:

Accessibility | Disclaimer | FOIA | No Fear | Notices | Privacy | DOI |